Accession negotiations according to the revised Methodology of the EU


The Council of the EU officially endorsed Commission’s proposal for a revised enlargement methodology for the Western Balkans in March 2020. It envisages a thematic division of chapters into six clusters – thematic units. Although the revised methodology was primarily made to apply to accession processes of Albania and North Macedonia, the proposed changes can be accommodated within the existing negotiating framework of Serbia as well.

How are the chapters divided, and which clusters are formed? How many chapters have Serbia opened in each cluster?